Department of Earth Sciences

Dr. Barnabas K. Kurgat, PhD.

Ag. Chairperson of Department


Thanks for visiting the Department of Earth Sciences which is under the School of Science and Applied Technology. We would like to extend a warm welcome to all visitors and in particular to our students.

In the Department of Earth Sciences, we are committed to being student-centered, creating learning environments that are challenging, collaborative, multidisciplinary, and skill-based (e.g. cartography, remote sensing, geographic information systems (GIS), spatial statistics, and environmental sampling and surveying).

Our goal is to educate and train our students, both undergraduates and postgraduates, for new and emerging environmental and natural resource management challenges that are characterized by complexity, uncertainty, interactivity and rapid change across space and time.

Academic Programmes

  1. PhD in Environmental Science
  2. MSc in Environmental Science
  3. BSc in Environmental Science
  4. BSc in Natural Resource Management
  5. BSc in Geography

Proposed Degree courses

  1. BSc. in Climate-Smart Agriculture
  2. BSc. in Geology
  3. BSc in Animal Science
  4. BSc in Wild life Conservation

Proposed Diploma Courses

  1. Dip Animal Science
  2. Dip in General Agriculture

Proposed Certificate Courses

  1. Environmental Impact Assessment and Audits
  2. Occupational health and safety
  3. GIS

Academic staff

  1. 6 regular teaching and research academic staff
  2. Authors of numerous scientific papers and book chapters
  3. Registered NEMA lead experts

Other services/consultancy work

The members of the Department continues offer guidance to Laikipia University on Environmental Management and Planning matters.

Copyright © 2024 Laikipia University. All right reserved.

Laikipia University is ISO 9001:2015 & ISO/IEC 27001:2013 Certified